What's New
Speedweek Ep 1379 March 13, 2022 Part 1 (March 15, 2022 11:58 am)
Speedweek Ep 1379 March 13, 2022 Part 2 (March 15, 2022 11:56 am)
Speedweek Ep 1378 March 6, 2022 (March 15, 2022 11:06 am)
Speedweek Ep 1375 February 6, 2022 Part 1 (February 17, 2022 10:41 am)
Speedweek Ep 1375 February 6, 2022 Part 2 (February 17, 2022 10:37 am)
Speedweek Ep 1374 January 30, 2022 Part 1 (January 31, 2022 11:32 am)


Driving the #30 Jimco 2016 Nissan 3500cc Glenn Owen (Vic) and Mathew Ryan (NSW) led the field into Finke yesterday for the overnight stop and were not headed today to take the chequered flag in a total race time 3 hours 37 minutes and 2 seconds ( Day 1: 1hr 50m 12s – Day 2: 1hr 46m 50s).

Owen is no stranger to the Finke having competed in the event on some six occasions with his best previous result being a second outright place in 1995.

In addition to Owen’s first win, the outstanding performance of the event was clearly the drive of four time Tatts Finke Desert Race bike winner and current Dakar bike champion Toby Price debuting behind the wheel of the #487 Geiser Brothers Trophy Truck 6000cc.

Price with co-driver Kyle Pfitzner started the event yesterday out of positon 19th on the road, and on corrected time came into the overnight stop in 5th position.

Despite an engine that was less than healthy, he kept it all together to claim second position overall with a total event time of 3 hours 45 minutes and 40 seconds. (Day 1: 1hr 51m 30s – Day 2 1hr 54m 9s). Price then left the finish line aboard an aircraft to return to Finke to prepare for his return run down the 226 kilometre track on his KTM bike.

Price/Pfitzner had run fifth through the Mt Squires Checkpoint, fourth through Bundooma and Rodinga, third through Deep Well, and then took second spot before the Alice Springs finish.

Coming home in third position in today’s event were West Australians Beau Robinson and Stephen Ketteridge-Hall in the #413 Geiser Brothers Trophy Truck Chev 6000cc.

Robinson/Ketteridge-Hall recorded a total event time of 3 hours 45 minutes and 59 seconds (Day1: 1hr 50m 35s – Day 2 1hr 55m 23s).

Notable withdrawals from the event included former winners Brad Gallard/Scott Modistach in the #454 Gesier Brothers Trophy Truck 3500cc and Shannon and Ian Rentsch in the #1 Jimco buggy Nissan 3500cc.

Gallard/Modistach had placed 4th into Finke last night but suffered mechanical issues between the Mt Squires and Bundooma checkpoints.

Last year’s winners, the son and father crew of Shannon and Ian Rentsch started in seventh from Finke this morning, but failed to make the first checkpoint at Mt Squires.

Full results on the event web site: www.finkedesertrace.com.au

Leave A Comment